Minutes – February 19, 2018

Minutes – 2/19/18

President Emily Ramos calls the meeting to order at 7:21 pm.

Welcomes and Introductions

Political Director Elections:

Angel Martinez

Antonia Zavala


Motion to elect Angel Martinez by Kathy Tran, seconded by Ryan Globus.


Call to question: Andrae Wara-Macapinlac

Motion passes with 11 votes  

Congratulations to Angel Martinez! You are our new political director!


Officer Reports:

  • President Emily Ramos
    • Sign up for endorsement committee
  • Membership Director Jesus Salazar
  • Treasurer Alex Petrosky
  • Secretary Kathy Tran
    • SCCDP Central Committee Update
  • Political Director
    • Welcome!

Old business

  • Convention
    • CYD passes – buy them if you haven’t already!
    • Sign up for hotel room: https://goo.gl/forms/2YtnuP0iRlVWi2pC3
    • Transportation

New business

  • Candidate and Issues Meet and Greet
    • Fair Vote Project
    • Susan Ellenberg for District 4 Supervisor
    • Recall Persky Campaign
    • Evergreen Senior Homes Initiative
    • Representative from the Dominic Caserta for District 4 Supervisor Campaign
    • Representative from the Don Rocha for District 4 Supervisor Campaign
    • John Cordus from Sunnyvale advocating for SB100, the Protect Coyote Valley campaign, and also announced he is running for Sunnyvale City Council  
    • Anti-recall Persky Campaign
    • Against the Evergreen Senior Homes Initiative Campaign (Committee for Green Hills)


  • Emy Thurber: 2 slots for proxies for AD27
  • Antonia Zavala: Listening to Trump’s America Event – Saturday, February 24, 2018 12-1 pm at Convention
  • Andrae Wara-Macapinlac: update on SB16 and SB298
  • Emily Ramos: proxies to convention, next meeting  
  • Kathy Tran: Assemblymember Evan Low – Hospitality suite with Kaskade on February 24, 2018  
  • Angelica Ramos: National Women’s Political Caucus – come up with app We Said Enough.Com  
  • Jesus Salazar: SEIU National Day of Action – Right to Work Day February 26, 2018. For more information, please contact


Motion by Emily Ramos to adjourn at 8:11 pm. Seconded by Andrae Wara-Macapinlac.